Needlepoint as a Distraction

Discuss knitting, embroidery, crocheting, and other types of creative needlework.
sibyl

Post by sibyl »

My father passed away suddenly in mid December from a massive heart attack. It was an unexpected blow and my 76 year old mother is trying her best to cope but I know she is in pain. On the days when she can't fix her mind on anything, I was thinking maybe needlepoint might be a good way to help her focus on something.

I'm only a novice with it myself but I've found that some aspects to it, from sorting thread to following the pattern to making sure the threads aren't twisted are a good distraction from things that may be pressing on my mind. I haven't done needlepoint in a few years. But I bought her a kit of a lovely picture of heirloom roses and I plan to take it with me next week when I go to visit her and teach her the basics.

I don't know if it will help or not but I'm willing to try anything! Wish me luck!
Patsy Warnick

Post by Patsy Warnick »

It's all therapy....

needlepoint - crochet - knitting - I crochet & sew..

yes - good idea - good therapy

Good luck & sorry for your loss

Patsy
chonsigirl

Post by chonsigirl »

I am sorry to hear about your loss. Doing things like knitting and needlepoint is a good thing to keep the mind occupied. It helps.
Odie

Post by Odie »

I am so sorry for your loss, keeping busy is the best medicine:-6!
Life is just to short for drama.
along-for-the-ride

Post by along-for-the-ride »

My condolences for the recent loss of your father.

Has your mother done needle-point before? How does she feel about a new hobby? Is there something else she has shown that she enjoys already?

Needle-point is a great hobby. There is also scrap-booking, joining a Senior Ladies club or a church grouo., painting, making jewelry.

I wish her..... and you.... all the best.
Life is a Highway. Let's share the Commute.
Kindle

Post by Kindle »