I've changed....and HELP !!!

Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

The other day my Linux Mint running laptop would not boot, so I ordered a cheapo laptop from eBay which Im using right now.

It's loaded with Windows 7 and my first impressions after using Mint for ages and ages is it seems to be hard work. It keeps reminding me about antivirus and stuff, Back ups and such, and the 'Free' antivirus wants you to buy it every five minutes.

My intention was to install Mint, but I am going to give this a try for a while at least.

The old laptop still refuses to boot into Mint so I installed Lubuntu beside it from an old DVD I found laying about, hoping to be able to rescue photos from the Mint partition.All my photos normally directly upload to Dropbox, but as it filled up too quickly, I downloaded some to the laptop to free up space.

Now for the HELP part of the post, do any of you IT genii know a simple way to rescue a few photos from the non bootable partition ?

It needs to be simple, because I am not half as clever as I thought after a little research has confused me more than is comfortable.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
LarsMac
Posts: 12463
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:11 pm
Location: Far Out, Man

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by LarsMac »

Firstly, for anti virus just go to Windows configuration and enable windows defender.

It is free.

Then tell that "free Antivirus to take a hike.

As for Mint, I am not much help.
Control is an illusion. The Chaos is all part of the fun.
-Susan Hattie Steinsapir
User avatar
Wandrin
Posts: 1697
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:10 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Wandrin »

I'm not an expert, by any means, but I have heard of a package/program named "Testdisk" for Linux. It has a function called "Photorec" that tries to recover lost photos. It ignores the file system and focuses on the data for its operations, so a damaged file system doesn't get in the way.

A big caveat is that in runs from the command line in terminal, so if you are not comfortable with that, this isn't the right tool. You can fid more information here.

To get it, you would run "sudo apt-get install testdisk" on the command line.
User avatar
spot
Posts: 39112
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Brigstowe

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by spot »

What I've learned is to make sure one know what the position is before one writes anything onto ones disk. The delay is immaterial, the writing is irreversible.

I have two concerns: the first is "the non bootable partition". It's not clear whether it has a filesystem intact on it or not - I would guess that it does. The other concern is where "I installed Lubuntu beside it" wrote to. A different partition, presumably. Or several different partitions which would make things even more arbitrary.

There are things called "Live CD" Linux distributions. One writes them to a blank DVD, boots from it and one then has a working Linux system without writing anything to ones hard drives. The reason to do it that way from the start is to do no harm to whatever data is left on the drives, while one uses the Live CD system to discover what went wrong and do all the retrieving one wants, still without writing to the hard drives at all.

Anyway, you have a working Lubuntu on there at the moment. If you run it up, make a terminal window and "sudo fdisk -l" you'll see all the drives and partitions on the system. If you copy/paste that into this thread, saying which one is "the non bootable partition", we can go a step further.

If you think you can see on the fdisk output "the non bootable partition" which has the photos on it, then jot down its name (something shaped like /dev/sda2 or /dev/sdb1 or /dev/hda1, let's call it /dev/XXXX). In the same terminal window type these lines: "sudo mkdir /temporary" "sudo mount /dev/XXXX /temporary" "sudo ls -ls /temporary"

All the sudo prefixes are to run commands as root. If you can use su once instead of sudo on each line that would be simpler but I don't expect Lubuntu would allow it.

If you copy/paste the entire text from the terminal window into this thread we can see where we've reached.
Nullius in verba|||||||||||
Who has a spare two minutes to play in this month's FG Trivia game!
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

LarsMac;1518485 wrote: Firstly, for anti virus just go to Windows configuration and enable windows defender.

It is free.

Then tell that "free Antivirus to take a hike.

As for Mint, I am not much help.


Looked for and found it, but when trying to install got the message "The program is blocked by group policy. Contact administrator (Error code 0x800704ec)"
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

spot;1518489 wrote: What I've learned is to make sure one know what the position is before one writes anything onto ones disk. The delay is immaterial, the writing is irreversible.

I have two concerns: the first is "the non bootable partition". It's not clear whether it has a filesystem intact on it or not - I would guess that it does. The other concern is where "I installed Lubuntu beside it" wrote to. A different partition, presumably. Or several different partitions which would make things even more arbitrary.

There are things called "Live CD" Linux distributions. One writes them to a blank DVD, boots from it and one then has a working Linux system without writing anything to ones hard drives. The reason to do it that way from the start is to do no harm to whatever data is left on the drives, while one uses the Live CD system to discover what went wrong and do all the retrieving one wants, still without writing to the hard drives at all.

Anyway, you have a working Lubuntu on there at the moment. If you run it up, make a terminal window and "sudo fdisk -l" you'll see all the drives and partitions on the system. If you copy/paste that into this thread, saying which one is "the non bootable partition", we can go a step further.

If you think you can see on the fdisk output "the non bootable partition" which has the photos on it, then jot down its name (something shaped like /dev/sda2 or /dev/sdb1 or /dev/hda1, let's call it /dev/XXXX). In the same terminal window type these lines: "sudo mkdir /temporary" "sudo mount /dev/XXXX /temporary" "sudo ls -ls /temporary"

All the sudo prefixes are to run commands as root. If you can use su once instead of sudo on each line that would be simpler but I don't expect Lubuntu would allow it.

If you copy/paste the entire text from the terminal window into this thread we can see where we've reached.


The non bootable partition tells me "Your session lasted less than 10 sec. If you have'nt logged out yourself, this could mean there is some installation problem or that you maybe out of diskspace. Try logging in with one of the failsafe sessions to see if you can fix the problem."

Below that a checkbox ? that says View details (~/.xsession-errors file) that when checked says.... "initctl: unable to connect to Upstart: Failed to connect to /etc/mdm/Xsession: Beginning session setup...

localuser:bruv being added to access control list"

This last time (looking to get this info) the boot hangs on a blank screen with just a cursor showing, thought before it hung on the login page that had started to show after updates (a known bug I understand) despite my settings not requiring login.

Just off to try your recommendations.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Output following fdisk

Disk /dev/sda: 74.5 GiB, 80026361856 bytes, 156301488 sectors

Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes

Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Disklabel type: dos

Disk identifier: 0x36b0f5f2

Device Boot Start End Sectors Size Id Type

/dev/sda1 * 2048 93140900 93138853 44.4G 83 Linux

/dev/sda2 93140990 156301311 63160322 30.1G 5 Extended

/dev/sda5 148056064 156301311 8245248 4G 82 Linux swap / Solaris

/dev/sda6 93140992 119268507 26127516 12.5G 83 Linux

/dev/sda7 119269376 148054015 28784640 13.7G 83 Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order.


I am thinking the second entry /dev/sda2 would be the one I am after because of size and the asterix against the previous entry under the boot column.

I will be back.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
spot
Posts: 39112
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Brigstowe

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by spot »

/dev/sda2 isn't a data partition, it's a wrapper ("extended") for the following three real partitions: 4+12.5+13.7=30.2Gb, which is the size of the wrapper.

There's no data in /dev/sda5, it's a temporary swap partition which changes content for each session.

/dev/sda1 looks like where you installed Lubuntu in which case it's going to be tricky to find photos under the overlayed new system - that's where Clod's process would be the only fallback.

First we need to see what's in partitions 6 and 7. It's quite possible the entire directory structure was created by the Lubuntu install.



sudo mkdir /mnt/t6

sudo mount /dev/sda6 /mnt/t6

sudo ls -ls /mnt/t6

sudo mkdir /mnt/t7

sudo mount /dev/sda7 /mnt/t7

sudo ls -ls /mnt/t7

df -H

and again, copy the output to the thread.
Nullius in verba|||||||||||
Who has a spare two minutes to play in this month's FG Trivia game!
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Sorry to show my ignorance, but should I enter all of that or line after line ?
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Here it is with the full text..............less my name......I'm shy.

HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ sudo ls -ls /mnt/t6

total 108

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 bin

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 boot

4 drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 dev

12 drwxr-xr-x 146 root root 12288 Mar 27 14:20 etc

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 home

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 32 Mar 27 14:20 initrd.img -> boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-53-generic

4 drwxr-xr-x 26 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 lib

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:22 lib64

16 drwx------ 2 root root 16384 Mar 27 14:20 lost+found

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 media

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 mnt

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 opt

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 proc

4 drwx------ 3 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:22 root

4 drwxr-xr-x 12 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:22 run

12 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 12288 Mar 27 14:22 sbin

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 srv

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 sys

4 drwxrwxrwt 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 tmp

4 drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:22 usr

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:20 var

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 29 Mar 27 14:20 vmlinuz -> boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-53-generic

geoff@geoff-HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ sudo mkdir /mnt/t7

geoff@geoff-HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda7 /mnt/t7

geoff@geoff-HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ sudo ls -ls /mnt/t7

total 112

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 15:08 bin

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Mar 27 15:16 boot

4 drwxrwxr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:48 cdrom

4 drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 4096 Jul 20 2016 dev

12 drwxr-xr-x 123 root root 12288 Mar 30 11:45 etc

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Mar 27 14:49 home

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 33 Mar 27 15:14 initrd.img -> boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-116-generic

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 32 Mar 27 14:50 initrd.img.old -> boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-31-generic

4 drwxr-xr-x 20 root root 4096 Mar 27 15:05 lib

16 drwx------ 2 root root 16384 Mar 27 14:44 lost+found

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Mar 27 16:17 media

4 drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Mar 30 14:18 mnt

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Jul 20 2016 opt

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Apr 12 2016 proc

4 drwx------ 6 root root 4096 Mar 30 11:15 root

4 drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Jul 20 2016 run

12 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 12288 Mar 27 15:09 sbin

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Jul 20 2016 srv

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Feb 5 2016 sys

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 30 11:07 temporary

4 drwxrwxrwt 10 root root 4096 Mar 30 14:17 tmp

4 drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Jul 20 2016 usr

4 drwxr-xr-x 13 root root 4096 Jul 20 2016 var

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 30 Mar 27 15:14 vmlinuz -> boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-116-generic

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 29 Mar 27 14:50 vmlinuz.old -> boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-31-generic

-HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ df -H
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Whooops !!! left my name in after all.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
spot
Posts: 39112
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Brigstowe

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by spot »

Bruv;1518501 wrote: Sorry to show my ignorance, but should I enter all of that or line after line ?
All of it is fine. The last line didn't get run though.

It's not what I expected but that's not necessarily bad news. Those are partitions you installed three days ago.

So, the big one at the front.

df -H

sudo mkdir /mnt/t1

sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/t1

sudo ls -ls /mnt/t1

df -H
Nullius in verba|||||||||||
Who has a spare two minutes to play in this month's FG Trivia game!
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

It tells me"Command not found"
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

I tried again....and.

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on

udev 2.1G 0 2.1G 0% /dev

tmpfs 417M 6.6M 411M 2% /run

/dev/sda7 15G 12G 1.8G 88% /

tmpfs 2.1G 28M 2.1G 2% /dev/shm

tmpfs 5.3M 4.1k 5.3M 1% /run/lock

tmpfs 2.1G 0 2.1G 0% /sys/fs/cgroup

tmpfs 417M 25k 417M 1% /run/user/1000

/dev/sda6 14G 875M 12G 8% /mnt/t6

geoff@geoff-HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ sudo mkdir /mnt/t1

mkdir: cannot create directory ‘/mnt/t1’: File exists

geoff@geoff-HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/t1

geoff@geoff-HP-EliteBook-6930p:~$ sudo ls -ls /mnt/t1

total 156

12 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 12288 Feb 23 17:07 bin

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Mar 22 13:14 boot

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 23 2016 cdrom

4 drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 4096 Dec 14 2016 dev

12 drwxr-xr-x 150 root root 12288 Mar 26 17:39 etc

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Dec 23 2016 home

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 32 Dec 23 2016 initrd.img -> boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-53-generic

4 drwxr-xr-x 25 root root 4096 Jan 23 11:50 lib

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Jan 23 11:50 lib64

16 drwx------ 2 root root 16384 Dec 23 2016 lost+found

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 May 10 2017 media

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 14 2016 mnt

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Feb 27 16:17 opt

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Apr 12 2016 proc

4 drwx------ 11 root root 4096 May 26 2017 root

4 drwxr-xr-x 12 root root 4096 Dec 14 2016 run

12 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 12288 Mar 26 17:38 sbin

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 14 2016 srv

4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Feb 5 2016 sys

40 drwxrwxrwt 11 root root 36864 Mar 30 10:21 tmp

4 drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Dec 14 2016 usr

4 drwxr-xr-x 11 root root 4096 Dec 14 2016 var

0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 29 Dec 23 2016 vmlinuz -> boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-53-generic

I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
spot
Posts: 39112
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Brigstowe

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by spot »

That's all okay. Your Lubuntu is rooted at /dev/sda7 and your old /home directory is on /dev/sda1

4 drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Dec 23 2016 home



So if you

sudo cd /mnt/t1/home/geoff

sudo ls -ls

and work in from there as your old home directory, can you find the files you want to save? A USB stick might come in handy.

I'm trying with these sudo commands (or a su for preference if you're allowed it) to avoid writing to the old space at all.
Nullius in verba|||||||||||
Who has a spare two minutes to play in this month's FG Trivia game!
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Like the previous hiccup when I thought I had put the wrong password in, the same is happening this time. I have checked the PW by opening the Software Centre with it successfully.

It tells me "Sorry try again"
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Now it says "sudo: cd: command not found"

So an ignoramus like me has no idea if the command is wrong or not or how to fix it.

It appears to be accepting the PW now though....?
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
spot
Posts: 39112
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Brigstowe

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by spot »

Let's drop the su and sudo entirely then. Just try using your file manager and navigating to /mnt/t1/home/geoff and look inside what was your old home directory, you appear to have read permissions there.

If it refuses then we'll have to find a way past the permissions but being Ubuntu-based we might need Bryn.
Nullius in verba|||||||||||
Who has a spare two minutes to play in this month's FG Trivia game!
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Thanks very much.

I think I have done it, now I shall stick them on a DVD I happen to have.

I didn't know I could do that.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
Bryn Mawr
Posts: 15924
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:54 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bryn Mawr »

Bruv;1518512 wrote: Thanks very much.

I think I have done it, now I shall stick them on a DVD I happen to have.

I didn't know I could do that.


You never know until you try :-)

Well done both.
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

I have had enough of that for one day.

Back on Windows for now.

I moved them to Lubuntu with some errors, it says, no room or something similar. I shall try to burn them to a DVD and delete them as I go, before trying to find the stragglers tomorrow.

All that gobbledegook means something ? I am impressed.................wish I was as clever, but my mind doesn't work that way unfortunately.

Thanks again Mr Spot much appreciated.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Update.

Turned on the laptop this morning to burn the images to DVD, and it wouldn't boot into Lubuntu at all.

I tried a live disk and so using Bodhi I logged onto Postimage and uploaded the lot to there..............bloody computors are hard work.

And now Lars.......Windows Defender, when I tried to turn it on I got told "The program is blocked by group policy" and to contact administrator (Error code 0x800704ec)

Is this because I have another antivirus running ?
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
LarsMac
Posts: 12463
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:11 pm
Location: Far Out, Man

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by LarsMac »

Bruv;1518515 wrote: Update.

Turned on the laptop this morning to burn the images to DVD, and it wouldn't boot into Lubuntu at all.

I tried a live disk and so using Bodhi I logged onto Postimage and uploaded the lot to there..............bloody computors are hard work.

And now Lars.......Windows Defender, when I tried to turn it on I got told "The program is blocked by group policy" and to contact administrator (Error code 0x800704ec)

Is this because I have another antivirus running ?


very likely.

from Control Panel, select programs (Uninstall programs) and select the anti-virus program and uninstall it

It will likely whine and complain, and you will have to reboot.

after that, you can install Windows defender.

It is generally adequate for most users, and it is no charge.

Then, you can decide at your leisure if you want another AV.

I always found WD to be quite competent, along with some common sense, of course.
Control is an illusion. The Chaos is all part of the fun.
-Susan Hattie Steinsapir
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

Yup that did it thanks, should have known really.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
LarsMac
Posts: 12463
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:11 pm
Location: Far Out, Man

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by LarsMac »

Just out of curiosity, which AV was it.

Guessing McAfee,
Control is an illusion. The Chaos is all part of the fun.
-Susan Hattie Steinsapir
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

First I had Total AV very briefly, I mean hours, then Avast, and now running happily on it's own Defender.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth
User avatar
FourPart
Posts: 6458
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:12 am

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by FourPart »

I've finally got round to getting my new machine built - some nice specs.

After much considering I finally decided to plump for having W10 on it, as I plan to have this one for quite some time, and I imagine that sooner or later W7 will go the same way as that other winning formula, XP, & support will cease.

I didn't like W10 when I upgraded ages ago, and it took me weeks to get rid of it.

Now it's on a clean install, I still don't particularly like it, but am beginning to get used to it. What infuriates me, though is the way it works like a mobile phone, centred on Apps, rather than programs & if you get an App, you constantly get more & more ads trying to get you to download more Apps - or even more annoying, telling you to download the App you're currently seeing the ad on in the first place. Even the basic Windows games, such as Minesweeper / Solitaire, etc now come as Apps, requiring you to pay for them in order to stop the ads.

I also find the inbuilt Windows Mail doesn't work & even when I got it set up it kept telling me my settings were out of date. Fortunately as part of the built I had included Office, so I had Outlook to use instead, but even so it took ages to remove User Details to stop Windows Mail from constantly popping up to tell me my settings were out of date.

There are so many things that I took for granted on W7 which are no longer available on W10. Even the View Desktop button (bottom right) no longer exists, per se. It's there, but only at the very edge of the screen. I've added a shortcut & pinned it to the taskbar to do the same thing as a workaround.

I do not understand why they've taken a formula that has been a winner since W3.1 and turn it totally on its head.
User avatar
LarsMac
Posts: 12463
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:11 pm
Location: Far Out, Man

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by LarsMac »

After nearly 2 years, I have finally got windoze 10 to behave, and I seldom actually notice the OS, anymore.

At least until I have to change settings for some tool, or feature.
Control is an illusion. The Chaos is all part of the fun.
-Susan Hattie Steinsapir
User avatar
FourPart
Posts: 6458
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:12 am

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by FourPart »

I was also having problems with my Realtec Sound Card coming through excessively Bassy. Google Research found this to be a common problem with W10, so I thought I was going to have to go for a new Sound Card (after having just paid £850 for a new build), but then all the Display went scatty & no amount of trying to change Display Settings would make any difference, so being a new install I did a full W10 Reset & that seemed to fix the problem (although I had to reinstall all the other stuff I had had preinstalled).

As for the FaceBook App. I like the idea of it, but it's so less flexible that I've removed it altogether & reverted to the Browser based version.

On the Positive side I find I am now able to send Tweets. Previously I kept getting told that it looked as if my Tweets were Automated.
Bruv
Posts: 12181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:05 pm

I've changed....and HELP !!!

Post by Bruv »

It's not just me then ?

The problem machine has now got a new install of Mint, but think it's past it's best now, the thing has to be be plugged in or the screen display dims.

Really I would prefer to install Mint on the new one, but am reluctant to overwrite Windows just yet.
I thought I knew more than this until I opened my mouth

Return to “Computers Internet”