Cell phone etiquette

Need help? Ask for it. Serious Discussions Only.
Oldschoolguy

Cell phone etiquette

Post by Oldschoolguy »

My gripe/question is not about talking on the phone. It is about playing games on the phone while with another person, spouse, etc., while out for a fun evening. Last night the wife and I went out for dinner and a concert. While waiting for our food to arrive I walked up to check on our order. When I got back the wife is playing Solitaire. (She just got a new iPhone and found out she can play Solitaire.) She says, "Well you got up so I started playing." When the food was ready she stopped and we ate. Then, we went to a concert at a local venue. During the first acoustic act I look over and she is playing Solitaire again. I asked her if she was bored and she said no. After about 10 minutes I ask her if she could at least turn off the sound effects on the game and she does, but continues to play. I then ask her nicely to stop playing and pay attention to the band. She finally lays down the phone and I thank her for doing so. A little while later I come back with our drinks and she is back at it. I joke with her that Solitaire, by virtue of the name, is supposed to be played when you are alone, bored, and have nothing else to do. She says she can enjoy the show and play solitaire too. She keeps on playing. I reach over a couple times and touch the screen and mess up her cards just to get her attention. We both laugh or smile, but she does not stop playing, even after I repeatedly ask her to.