Is my manager flirting with me?

Need help? Ask for it. Serious Discussions Only.
confused_intern

Post by confused_intern »

Hi,

About 4 weeks ago I started my 4 months unpaid internship. My senior manager is a very nice, smart, interesting man. He is about in his mid to late 50s. He is also married. Him and his wife do not have any children. He likes to say that kids give him rash. Because I am an unpaid intern he takes me out for lunch at least twice a week. There are no other interns there. Is he just being very nice to me or is he in a very subtitle way flirting with me? First time when we went out for lunch, he asked me many questions about myself, and if I am single. I think he was just trying to learn about me as much as he could.

Another question I have, about what should I be talking to him? I want to make a good impression on him. I know they do not hire interns, I still hope they would be willing to make an exception for me.

Any tips are highly appreciated.

Almost forgot to mention: He said since we can't pay you, at least now and then can take you for lunch.
Snooz

Post by Snooz »

Yes, he wants to have sex with you.
confused_intern

What makes you say that? He did not make any sexual comments. I did not see him flirting with me either.

He said: Since we can't pay you, now and then will take you out for lunch
Oscar Namechange

Post by Oscar Namechange »

He's taking you out to lunch rather than his wife because he has a genuine Interest In your views on post modern feminism and he enjoys your company so much.

You say you want to make a good Impression on him ? Not pharting at the table or picking and flicking your nose during lunch will help.

Alternatively, you can gain Instant self respect by repeating the following.

' So you are married? Goodbye'
At the going down of the sun and in the morning, we will remember them. R.L. Binyon
Patsy Warnick

Post by Patsy Warnick »

Confused

How do you feel? Are you uncomfortable?