Am I good enough?

A forum to discuss your work and issues regarding employment.
Clint

Am I good enough?

Post by Clint »

As some of you know, I’m unemployed. I have worked in managerial and supervisory roles for over 30 years. I took a three year hiatus to be a full time pastor and I enjoyed it but too much of it conflicted with my beliefs. None of that seems to matter now. I’m not getting anywhere in my job search. To complicate things, I’ve just been diagnosed with Lupus and it has taken its toll on my eyes so my health isn’t one of my strong points.

Yesterday, I took one of those tests that tells you what kind of a career you are best suited for. It was pretty comprehensive and the results were a little surprising to me. After all these years of heavy lifting as a senior manager I find out that it isn’t really what I’m best suited for.

The results of the test were expressed by showing me the career fields are the best fit for me. The top three occupations were; Book Editor, Creative Writer and Writer/Author.

What should I do? Can I write well enough to pursue one of those occupations? I’m not that objective in my thinking.

I am asking those of you who are familiar with what I have posted here to give me your opinions. Many of you are excellent writers and I would value your opinion a lot. Tell it like it is.

Thank you.
Schooling results in matriculation. Education is a process that changes the learner.
chonsigirl

Am I good enough?

Post by chonsigirl »

Write Clint, write!
capt_buzzard

Am I good enough?

Post by capt_buzzard »

Clint, what I know of about you. God, has opened another line for you. Just keep on what you are doing here.
theia

Am I good enough?

Post by theia »

Clint,

Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.

(Goethe)
Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answers...Rainer Maria Rilke
capt_buzzard

Am I good enough?

Post by capt_buzzard »