Shooting Gallery

General discussion area for all topics not covered in the other forums.
Ahso!

Shooting Gallery

Post by Ahso! »

I went to a shooting gallery last week. It's my first time shooting a gun since my time in the Navy back in 1974.

It was an interesting experience. What I realized after the first shot was that shooting a firearm is different than any other similar type of hobby I've ever been involved in. There's pulling the trigger and looking for the results, period. It isn't like archery or any other sport using a projectile where I can watch the unfolding of my action to trace the results. If I throw a javelin, launch an arrow, throw a football or baseball, shoot a basketball, or shoot a hockey puck, I get to watch the action unfold to the results. Not so with shooting a gun. Even watching violent video games, the animation usually shows the path of the bullet in some way, but that's not the reality of it.

As I'm aging and searching for something to do with my time I thought I'd give this a look as a hobby.

Perhaps my perspective is only that of a newbie and there is more to the gratification of shooting guns? For those who are more experienced, I'd like your perspective or advice.
“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities,”

Voltaire

I have only one thing to do and that's

Be the wave that I am and then

Sink back into the ocean

Fiona Apple
Saint_

Shooting Gallery

Post by Saint_ »

I went out shooting about a year ago as well. I grew up with guns and owned many at one point. I found that I was as good a shot as I ever was...then I almost shot my foot off.

I guess shooting guns for fun would be a good hobby for some. Not me, though. I hate guns.

I used to own guns. I had a Marlin Model 60 (.22 with a 16 shot barrel feed), a Ruger 10/22, and a 9mm Luger. I mostly liked to go out and hunt beer cans with my friends. Like all teens, I loved the feeling of power firing a gun gave me.