University Research

DK13

University Research

Post by DK13 »

I am a final year student at Manchester Metropolitan University in the UK studying Design & Technology for Industry. I am currently in the research stage for my major project and I am keen on looking into the problem of climate change and the possible solutions available through sustainable energy, whether it is big or small; as I think every little helps.

I am also interested in maybe combining the problem with obesity, which is becoming a massive health problem in the UK. I was considering the prospect of converting the mechanical energy created by exercise to electrical energy so that the individual is getting the two benefits of improving their fitness and creating green energy. Or I was thinking of looking into the energy requirements of Less Developed Countries and how their plight for development demands heavily on using electrical energy.

As I am in still in the research stage of my project I have actually no idea on which way I will take this project but I feel very strongly on the subject.

I was hoping that I might be able to pick some good information for my research through people who are keen on making a positive difference or what people think about the problems mentioned above.

Thank-you
Hugh Janus

University Research

Post by Hugh Janus »

So! You're thinking of using exercise bikes, attached to generators eh?

Or maybe treadmills providing rotational force, using large belts to transmit the rotation to a factory full of machines? Something like the old mills that used to dominate Manchester... Somehow, I don't think it will catch on...:sneaky:
DK13

University Research

Post by DK13 »

Ummmmmm!! Not actually but I see where you going with it!

No, I don't plan on doing anything like that because that is already possible with bikes by connecting a generator to it if wanted.

I'm actually in the research stage as I have already mentioned so I don't know what the outcome will be yet.