If you play with wood read this.

Barman

Post by Barman »

I have never taken much notice of this before now, i have just left the Doctors with an inhaler, aero chamber etc.

Doc reckons all my respiratory problems which i have been having trouble with for the last 2 years are down to MDF and Iroko.

I never knew hardwood dust causes nasal cancer or asthma or not much of anything serious at all. I always suspected MDF but there are bucketloads listed here.

I have been working with hardwoods for over 30 years and never worn a mask more than once or twice and then only whilst machining Iroko.

I love playing with wood but i think a mask is going to be a must in the future.

London Hazards Centre Factsheet

Wood Based Boards

Wood based boards are used almost everywhere. Workers complain of the dust produced by the boards but few workers know what the boards are made of or the hazards.

Boards are categorised into three main groups, laminated boards, particle boards or fibre boards.

Laminates or wood particles are glued or bonded together by formaldehyde resins. Most boards will be glued by urea formaldehyde but exterior, "WBP", or marine quality boards will be glued by stronger glues, normally phenol formaldehyde or possibly resorcinol formaldehyde. Water resistant boards may have melamine mixed with the glue.

Rumours that medium density fibre board (MDF) is banned in the USA are untrue. Emissions of formaldehyde from board products are, however, regulated in the USA and Germany, and are expected to be regulated throughout the European Community (EC) in the future.

Formaldehyde emissions at work in the UK are controlled by standards set in the Control Of Substances Hazardous to Health Regulations (see factsheet Daily Hazard No. 24) and the occupational exposure standards set out in HSE Guidance note EH40.