The Big Blue Marble.

kensloft

The Big Blue Marble.

Post by kensloft »

Years ago there was a program on TVO (the equivalent of PBS) for children called The Big Blue Marble. The opening picture for the show was the picture of earth that had been taken from one of the first space flights. It did look like a big blue marble but the name sounded so dead and inanimate that it irked me to no end every time the program came on the T.V.

The reason why it irked me so was buried in my subconcious and was based on some perspective that I had seen in my mind's eye. The picture in my mind's eye was that of a vibrant, growing organism known as the planet earth.

It wasn't until later in life that I studied geology and realized that the earth was a growing organism. From Gondwonaland to Pangaea to the present day the earth has grown. With the destruction of the earth's surface to the construction of the earth's surface life in many form abounded and died leaving, as its legacy, its body.

Hundreds of millions of years of whatever life grew died and left its body. On its body new organisms grew and died. Interspersing with the detritus of what had come before. Year after year, layer after layer the organism grew. Proof of its growth can be easily be seen in the Grand Canyon.

From the cambrian rock to the desert of the present day, it is there for you to gaze at in awe and wonder. One can easily imagine that if the earth wasn't a living entity or organism then reason would have it that we would be living on the bottom of the canyon.

When you talk about the surface you talk about the crust of the earth. You get the feeling that that is the end of the line. The last level. There isn't anymore. In my mind's eye is that picture of the Big Blue Marble.