Full Harvest? (herbs)

Discuss growing vegetables, fruits, and herbs.
Nocturna

Full Harvest? (herbs)

Post by Nocturna »

Hello everyone Smile

Okay, so I've grown herbs for the first time ever this year. I have Basil (which hasn't done too well), Chamomile, peppermint, spearmint, Lemon Verbena, and Catnip. I've been doing a continual harvest through the summer (taking a bit, letting more grow, etc), but now that fall is nearly here...do I do a "full harvest"? As in, cut them down to the ground? If so, when? We have a bit more warm weather on the way, but it'll end soon. I'm guessing I should take what I can before it gets too cold? As said, this is my first time growing herbs, so I'm still learning.

I'm from western washington.

Thanks!

Joe.
Clodhopper

Full Harvest? (herbs)

Post by Clodhopper »

Hello and welcome! :)

I don't think I can help much, since although I'm also trying to grow things I am very inexperienced. :o

However, I have been told that basil is notoriously difficult, so don't be too concerned if it hasn't gone well. Mine only started to really go when I gave up and ignored it - then the snails got it. Aaaargh! :wah:

How do you plan to preserve it when /if you do harvest it fully?
The crowd: "Yes! We are all individuals!"

Lone voice: "I'm not."
Nocturna

Full Harvest? (herbs)

Post by Nocturna »

LOL yes, I've heard many others say the same thing about Basil. Apparently it's hard to take care of..at least in my area.

As for preserving them..I've been taking a bit here and there, and using some fresh, and drying others (by hanging them upside down, and then putting them into air-tight containers once dried).

That's been working great..but now since fall is almost here..I'm thinking I need to harvest what I can, so the plants don't just die because of the cooler weather. I'm thinking I should chop them down to a few inches from the ground..but I'm not entirely certain.

Thanks for your response :)
qsducks

Full Harvest? (herbs)