Gords and Luffahs

Discuss growing vegetables, fruits, and herbs.
rainbowsmiles

Gords and Luffahs

Post by rainbowsmiles »

Any gardeners out there that can help?

I planted Gords and Luffahs in late May and they are only one foot high - is that good or should they be bigger already?

My watermellon is huge and has flowers on it but not a single melon yet. I also planted that at the end of May too - is it on schedule or should I be seeing a melon by now?

As you probably know - I'm new at this stuff :p
valerie

Gords and Luffahs

Post by valerie »

It's hard to say without knowing more about it but it does sound like

you might be a little behind. Did you plant seeds? Or "starter" plants?

If you still have the seed packets, a lot of them will say "Fruits mature

in 120 days" or something. The danger at this point is that depending

on your area, you might get frost before you get watermellon!

If I were you I'd try dosing the plants with a good fertilizer. I like to use

fish emulsion. There are directions on the bottles as to strength.

:-6
Tamsen's Dogster Page

http://www.dogster.com/?27525

rainbowsmiles

Gords and Luffahs

Post by rainbowsmiles »

Thanks for your help valerie. I fear the frost will come before they are done growing :(

Is the fish emulsion safe to use around the pets. I've never heard of it. Do I find it at the local garden store?
valerie

Gords and Luffahs

Post by valerie »

Hey Rainbow how did the gourds come out?

:-6
Tamsen's Dogster Page

http://www.dogster.com/?27525

rainbowsmiles

Gords and Luffahs

Post by rainbowsmiles »