Hello, pleased to make your acquaintance

New member introductions. Tell us a little about yourself. Then, click on "Blogs" above and start your own personal blog!
sohcahtoa

Post by sohcahtoa »

Always a joy to find a new forum and meet new people.

I am sohcahtoa, Canadian, mid-thirties. I have one husband, three sons, three cats and one pointy-nosed collie dog. I'm a veteran of quite a few internet forums under different names, but I've been sohcahtoa for quite a while now and no one else.

In real life I am proud to say I am a friend to Koan. We've known each other a long time but are currently separated by physical distance.

My moniker, if you think back to high school trigonometry, is the pneumonic to remember which of Sine, Cosine or Tangent you use to determine the unknown angles and side-measurements of a right-angled triangle, given only one interior angle and one (or more) sides. Now far be it from me to read anything, especially metaphorically, into mathematics, usually.

However I feel it fits me perfectly, when I think about it. It's about the importance of perspective, and how the information you have relates to your perspective, and the acknowledgement that we can deduce the answers we seek from the barest of information, deduce it differently from one another, and still in the end all be able to answer the questions sufficiently well.

For fun, I like intelligent books and stupid television, hanging around with my children, trying to make practical sense of the world I live in, and taking naps ;).

Pleased to "meet" you all. I don't know how much time I have for a new forum (they became tremendous timesucks to me and I had to cut way, WAY down on my internet usage!) but I'll be sure to pop in now and again to see what's up. So far I am pleased with the organisation: it is logical.

Tata for now,

~sohcahtoa
~Love deliberately. The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all.

Peg

Post by Peg »