The Lamp Lady on the Shelf.

jones jones

Post by jones jones »

FG isn’t a Writing Forum so there aren’t many members here who are too into creative writing. Anyway I’m a writer. I know I’m odd, strange, weird & very eccentric and those are the good things I’ve been called here on FG!

So anyway yesterday, or was it Thursday? No I think it was Thursday, I was sitting at my desk and I was sort of day dreaming & like staring at a shelf to my right where I have sundry stuff I have collected over time.

So there’s this 1960s lamp sitting there and right beside it a clockwork tinplate baby bear wearing a diaper that sort of crawls about on paws & feet when you wind it up. Mostly they just hang around there doing nothing cos once you’ve seen the baby bear strut its stuff there’s very little else of interest about it. As for the lamp, its rather kitsch so I never switch it on.

So while I was looking their way, the following description/dialogue came to me. I thought I’d share it with you so that you could maybe check out how the mind of a writer works.

The lady has on an ankle length lead glazed skirt with a yellow key sticking out the back of her neck. He head is tilted to one side, her right arm held across her boobs and the left hand touching her belly just above her navel. A thin, black electrical wire leads from beneath her red, orange, black and mother of pearl skirt. There is a three prong plug attached to the end of it. She wears her heart on the front of her dress as well as a scarlet jacket and a thin black bow is tied around her neck. She has a prissy look about her.

“She’s only a lamp you know.” Miss Lombard whispered in my ear. “A pretty, leaded light, decorative lamp. See the electric cord and plug?”

“And not to mention the yellow key in the back of her neck.” I whispered back.

Miss Lombard had obviously educated herself in matters technical.