My beautiful Ben

Discussion group for bereaved parents.This forum offers support, understanding, compassion and hope to bereaved parents, grandparents and siblings struggling to rebuild their lives after the death of their children, grandchildren or siblings.
beautifulben'smum

My beautiful Ben

Post by beautifulben'smum »

Hello everybody. I am very new to this but am constantly searching the internet for ways of coping with my family's situation. My 15yr old son, Ben, was diagnosed with a brain stem tumour on 23rd November 2005. Two days later we were told he had less than a 10% chance of survival. Now, a year on ( a very long year) he has only a few months left. He has gone from a typical teenager, always out with his mates, constantly playing football and thinking about girls to someone who staggers around the house, barely able to walk, see or talk. I know he will soon be needing hospice care and watching my amazing son disintergate before my eyes - well the pain is incredible. I don't know how I carry on but I have to, for him and for my 6yr old, Ashley. My family are fantastic but none of them really know what I'm going through. I'm his mum! I should be able to protect him and keep him safe. This has got to be one of the cruellest ways for your child to die. I sometimes pray he could be knocked over by a bus, anything to stop him having to endure this gradual deterioration, this loss of all his abilities, whiilst his mind is fully aware what is going on. I feel so alone, I need to know that somebody out there knows how I am feeling.
pantsonfire321@aol.com

My beautiful Ben

Post by pantsonfire321@aol.com »