Homeschooling in NY Question

magick13

Post by magick13 »

Hi Everyone,

Maybe someone here can answer this ?. I have a 13 yr. old daughter in the 7th grade who recently was a bystander in something in the public school that she didn't need to be involved in and I have decided to start homeschooling her next year. There is also another mother who is doing the same w/her daughter because of what happened.

My ? to everyone or someone is other than getting the homeschool form to the super at the school does anyone know exactly what books or things I need to get for my daughter as far as the State of NY is concerned when it comes to homeschooling? I've read the laws for the State of NY, but it doesn't tell you much. Is there anybody else homeschooling there kids in the State of NY that can help. The internet gets you a little lost when it comes to this subject.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'll wait for everyones emails in my inbox.

Oh, yeah I'm new to the garden. So, hi I'm magick13 by the way. Thanks.:cool:
Kathy Ellen

Post by Kathy Ellen »

Hi Magic,

Welcome to the garden. Hope you enjoy your time here. I believe tha RJ would have some info for you about home schooling. Sorry that some issues happened to your daughter in school. Good luck to you and family.

magick13

Post by magick13 »

:-6 Hi Kathy and Thank you. So RJ do you have any answers to help me with homeschooling an 8th grader in the State of NY? I'll await your email and anyone else who can help out.

Thanks again guys.

magick13.
Accountable

Post by Accountable »

Welcome Magick! :-6

Will your school or district give you the name of someone else who is successfully homeschooling? They may be able to mentor you.

Good luck!
magick13

Post by magick13 »

:) Thank you Accountable, but I have to agree with RJ I'm going to try and stay out of the school system as much as possible when I start homeschooling my daughter. However I do appreciate the advice though.