Basic Evolutionary Theory -- What is it?

Ahso!

Post by Ahso! »

I placed this in the philosophy forum because I'd like Cobert to have a look, and I have the impression he likes to stick to this forum exclusively. His input and scrutiny is important to me.

Since the Evolutionists/Creationists thread has most likely gone its course, I'd like to explore this topic itself. I am by no means an expert on the subject, but from seeing who else here are evolutionists, I figure my back is sufficiently covered with anything I can't answer.

I'm of the opinion that evolution is a difficult subject for some only because they have not looked into it, and its fine to reject it of course, but at least know what you are rejecting. And for those that just feel intimidated by the subject or are simply too busy to read Darwin's work, this thread may prove to be fun entertainment and enlightening.

So off we go!

The theory of evolution is the study or observation of organisms to their environment, or the transformation of species. That's it! Nothing more or less. Surprised? I was!

There are three principles Charles Darwin proposed that explains this phenomena;

1) Natural Selection

2) Sexual Selection

3) Pangenesis (Lamarckian selection)

I'd like to stop there for now and tackle these principles each in its own dedicated thread, but for now there's plenty here to chew on.

The first question or automatic objection that inevitably arises in this discussion is: Why is it only a "theory", or, It's only a theory.

Anyone else familiar with evolutionary theory want to take that one on?
“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities,”

Voltaire

I have only one thing to do and that's

Be the wave that I am and then

Sink back into the ocean

Fiona Apple
Clodhopper

Post by Clodhopper »